Linky love 7th January

I had yesterday off work because of #uksnow so this Linky love is a little more involved than usual. I though that a bit of “Hoony Hate” or “Through with Hewitt” was apt start Linky Love.

Labour List has the reaction on Twitter. Hopi Sen is quietly disappointed. Jim Jepps asks who wants to be the shortest serving PM ever. Sunder on why the plot will fail. Sunny comes over all silly, but his #lolplots are well worth a look. The Tories have a go at being funny too, well done them. Eric Joyce MP thinks about the chickens who bailed on “Geoff and Pat.” Mr Eugenides perhaps sums up how the Libertarian wing of the blogosphere view this “Useless idiots call on hapless clown to resign.”

  • Duncun Stott shills for the Lib Dems with a snazzy little poster.
  • Brad DeLong takes us through his introductory lecture on Economic History.
  • Left Foot Forward think MPs’ Balanced Migration group will “stoke up anti-immigrant sentiment.”
  • The Guardian laments the inevitable Climate Change wingnuttery that a little snow brings out.
  • Splinty gives us a view of politics as it should not be done. An abstract:

Labour Cllr. Frank McBrearty Jr said that Donegal Mayor, Fianna Fáil Cllr. Brendan Byrne, has broken the trust in the council chamber by allowing a quorum of 10 Fianna Fáil councillors to adopt the 2010 budget while the remaining 19 were in a meeting down the hall.

  • Professor Nutt, who was recently sacked by Alan Johnson for expressing a view essential identical to that of my mother on drugs, is setting up an Independent Council on Drug Harm, and would like your support.

MPs’ Balanced Migration group will “stoke up anti-immigrant sentiment”

4 thoughts on “Linky love 7th January

  1. I never asked – are you going to do the Econ HIstory course? Because DeLong’s openness and sheer productivity makes one wonder, sometimes, if it is possible to do it without turning up at the LSE. . .

    which in this weather may be a good thing

    1. I’ve only really just started following in the last week or two some of the Econo bloggers of America like DeLong and Yglesias and I am amazed by their output.

      Posts as long as Sunder Katawala’s on a frequency comparable to Tim Worstall… Mind boggling, I am learning a lot, but its all a little overwhelming as I pretty much want to include all their output in my “Linky Love.”

      And yeah, I hope to be doing the course, going to be sending off the e-application this week if I can get this personal statement sorted finally and my documents scanned. I got a snowday today – woo, second in a row! – and I should get all my loose ends tied up.

  2. I on the other hand did not really get into the British Blogosphere till lately, and still largely push it off my attention span by running it through Bloglines, not Reader, and getting round to it later.

    DeLong – brilliant, though unbearable over the election. But top for me is Mark Thoma (economists view). I would chuck in Mankiw and Tyler Cowen, myself.

    Good luck with that course

    1. Ill check out your recommendations, thanks.

      I have just had to spend the last 70 minutes shovelling snow, but now I will finish that application. And thanks, I’ll need that luck, but a good word with Tim Leunig wouldn’t hurt either.

Comments are closed.