Gaddafi on his way out

I’m pretty sceptical of every “liberal” intervention, especially ones intended to topple long standing incumbents who are holding together fractious countries in the most volatile region of the earth. However, colour me optimistic about tonight’s events.

Gaddafi appears to be on his last legs as rebels advance on Tripoli. Saif Gaddafi has been detained according to Reuters and the ICC seem keen to try Gaddafi senior (if he’s not found swinging – a la Mussolini – from a lamppost).

If NATO’s airstrikes have played a role in mitigating the carnage and helping force Gaddafi out I will revise my views somewhat. Rather than assume all interventions are onanistic consumption for powerful people, I may begin to think these interventions may occasionally serve some useful purpose.

However, it is early days yet, so while my will is optimistic, my intellect says “revolt in the middle east? Why, what could there possibly be to worry about.”

One thought on “Gaddafi on his way out

  1. “Rather than assume all interventions are onanistic consumption for powerful people, I may begin to think these interventions may occasionally serve some useful purpose”

    I don’t see these as exclusive. The fact that a broken clock is right twice a day doesn’t change the fact that it’s broken. Occasionally, something good may incidentally come from “onanistic consumption for powerful people”.

    Also, I wouldn’t be in a big hurry to start counting chickens just yet.

Comments are closed.