A modest proposal, we, the people, want our laws written by those who cannot spell

DELETED POST. Probably still in google’s cache and my subscribers RSS feed, if you’re interested.

I compared the responses to England’s Riots to the responses to Norway’s tragedy and I regret it. Norway’s tragedy should in no way ever be used to make fun of morons. I also think discussing anything that Norwegian arsehole did should be kept to a minimum. Sorry for any hurt, or insensitivity.

However, I still think that the petition to remove benefits from rioters is one of the stupidest things I’ve ever come across. It be difficult to implement, expensive to monitor, likely to back fire and based on the somewhat erroneous assumption that those who were rioting were claiming benefits. But there’s no reason to bring murdered children into this.

3 thoughts on “A modest proposal, we, the people, want our laws written by those who cannot spell

  1. Cheap and misguided comparing this to Norway – the situations are incredibly different. And it’s ‘backfire’ not ‘back fire’. Pots, kettles etc

    1. Yes they are different, Norway was much, much worse, yet our reaction has been much, much more petty and vulgar.

      Backfire, yes, Muphry’s Law, I am aware of it, but not too bothered. I’ll even not correct it for posterity.

Comments are closed.