Tony Benn’s Open Letter

It is time to organise a broad movement of active resistance to the Con-Dem government’s budget intentions. They plan the most savage spending cuts since the 1930s, which will wreck the lives of millions by devastating our jobs, pay, pensions, NHS, education, transport, postal and other services.

The government claims the cuts are unavoidable because the welfare state has been too generous. This is nonsense. Ordinary people are being forced to pay for the bankers’ profligacy.

The £11bn welfare cuts, rise in VAT to 20%, and 25% reductions across government departments target the most vulnerable – disabled people, single parents, those on housing benefit, black and other ethnic minority communities, students, migrant workers, LGBT people and pensioners… [Continued]

After a lacklustre response from the TUC it is good to see Tony Benn trying to organise a fight-back.

I have my doubts about their recommendations, which I will go into at another time (or if I don’t get the first, link to someone I agree with), but you should go read the thing and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Tony Benn’s Open Letter

Comments are closed.