Stream of Consciousness and some Top Blogging

I’ve finally bought Capital! And I got 70% off at Borders. Take that gale of creative destruction and put it in your centralisation of capital pipe!

I also bought 9 other books totalling about £40 so I’m a happy bunny. Got Eric Hobsbawm‘s Age of Capital, Empire and Extremes, Paul Krugman‘s Conscience of a Liberal and The Return of Depression Economics, Keay‘s China: A History, StiglitzMaking Globalisation Work, Dostoevsky‘s The Idiot and the Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

So I’ve a pretty good Christmas ahead of me once I finish Lolita (which is written even better than I expected but which is dragging a little) and  SchwartzStates versus Markets I will be diving in to this lot.

And recommendations on where to start?

Once again I find myself in broad agreement with Dave Semple. I would very much like to see the court ruling which has barred BA staff from striking, but from the outset it looks as though democracy has been damaged by a technicality.

Also of note is that Peter Tachell has stood down as Green Candidate for Oxford East. I was aware that he’d suffered some injuries while on marches and protests but I had no idea that they might stop him campaigning and fighting. I wish him a peaceful christmas and a recooperative 2010.

6 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness and some Top Blogging

  1. I’m a bit of a book worm, don’t spend a huge amount of time reading, but I do like holding an actual book, they’ve got a good texture to them.

    Not a fan then? Saw all three and thought I may as well pick up what I could cheap.

  2. There’s a fourth – Age of Revolutions. ‘Extremes’ was tacked on at the end of the series, several years after the others were finished.

    But I meant the ‘hard’ copies, as it were.

    1. Yeah, I know I’m missing one, but it wasn’t in the sale dammit, someone must have snatched it up.

      I’m quite into my 19th C Economic History so I think I’ll prioritise Capital and Empire in any case. I’ve really got into Krugman’s blog too (I’d recommend that if you don’t follow it), so I’ll be reading his books asap.

      Ah, hard copies, good. A Blogbookclub would be awesome.

  3. I kind of rate Hobsbawm’s bandits, there’s the obvious stuff about Mexico, but he’s decidedly forthright about what is counterproductive with regards to the left and violence. Of course, this measures nowhere near to Zizek’s Violence or indeed On Violence by Arendt. Who mentioned violence?

    By the way, I believe nothing LO until I see this written up on your “what I’m reading” list.

    1. Perhaps you’re right… Its been a little stationary recently, I do need to update it properly.

      Hbsbawms been on my “to read” list for a while so I’m lloking forward to getting involved.

Comments are closed.