Left Outside

Young Earth Creationism: I can’t believe some people believe this crap

Via Krugthulu, Marco Rubio’s isn’t sure how old the planet is:

GQ: How old do you think the Earth is?

Marco Rubio: I’m not a scientist, man. I can tell you what recorded history says, I can tell you what the Bible says, but I think that’s a dispute amongst theologians and I think it has nothing to do with the gross domestic product or economic growth of the United States. I think the age of the universe has zero to do with how our economy is going to grow. I’m not a scientist. I don’t think I’m qualified to answer a question like that. At the end of the day, I think there are multiple theories out there on how the universe was created and I think this is a country where people should have the opportunity to teach them all. I think parents should be able to teach their kids what their faith says, what science says. Whether the Earth was created in 7 days, or 7 actual eras, I’m not sure we’ll ever be able to answer that. It’s one of the great mysteries.

At one level, this shows the Republican’s anti-science at its worse. The Christian right doesn’t see science as a path to knowledge, merely as another hermetic cult with its own competing creation myths. This is the key to why this young eartherism is a problem.

On another level, it shows the chutzpah of the Republicans. Of course being scientifically illiterate has an impact on the economy! The economy is more or less science in action, or at least the application of things that haven’t failed yet, which is more or less what science is.

This should be worrying for everyone involved (which sadly is everyone) because we’re already 13 days into the 2016 campaign, and this guy is in the front of the Republican pack.

Filed under: Politics, Society, ,

4 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. john says:

    I think the discussion on creation verses evolution is far from simple. Suffice it is to say that the number of people who believe that this universe is a big accident and there is no purpose to it and it was not created etc etc is far less than those who believe that something created it. the details are disputed but hey what is there to be shocked about there? The Islamic tradition states that god created the universe in 7 “ayyaam” which can mean “days” or “periods” thats not convenient its just the way the language is. But elsewhere in the Quran It states that one of his “yaum” or days is as 50,000 years of our making. So that would be 350,000 years, so you would have to look into big bang science and the theory of the stages, but obviously you have to take into account it is just calculative theory and the text is also open to interpretation. This proves one thing. People believe what they want to believe and that includes those with the religion of atheism. Much is based on faith. I happen to believe that the smallest leap of faith is in Islam but thats down to my own personal journey and my research into the quran. I personally could not accept an explanation that the earth is 3000 years old as some christians announce, that is not credible as we have concrete evidence. Each to their own.

  2. Left Outside says:

    No, pretty much all religions are insane, the more and more I don’t think about them, the more they sound like the ravings of madmen whenever I accidentally have to remember they exist.

    I appreciate the argument (is it Decartes?) that I might not be experiencing the real world, that it might just be impulses triggered by a demon. But that is pretty unlikely.

    Given that the evidence my sense pick up (and the senses of others corroborate), its pretty obvious that all the religious stories of creation are nonsense made up by people on the genius-madman axis. Whereas science offers a pretty good guess on what really happened.

  3. Dunc says:

    Man, I freakin’ love it when people use computers and the internet to argue that science is just another belief system…

    Your computer doesn’t run on magic.

When NGDP is Depressed, Employment is Depressed

RSS Subsciption

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,313 other followers

Increase NGDP, Put These People Back to Work

Follow me on twitter

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Politics Blogs

Testimonials

Paul Sagar

Left Outside is always worth a read for passionate, and frequently irreverent, analysis and comment.

Sunny Hundal

Oi! Enough of the cheek!

Chris Dillow

Left Outside is, I think, entirely wrong

John Band

This might be the least well informed piece I’ve read on LC, which is quite an accolade.

DEC Appeal

License

Creative Commons License
Left Outside by Left Outside is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.
Based on a work at leftoutside.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://wp.me/PvyGQ-gt.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,313 other followers

