Left Outside

Is it me?

I am unwilling to take complete responsibility for this, but it is a hell of a coincidence…

 

Just to remind everyone that while I am no spring chicken, pretty much all my friends and I have more or less no idea what economic growth feels like. Nada. Zip. Our entire working lives have been spent in a depression. That can’t be healthy, even for somebody like me who has spent the whole time employed.

In some ways I think it may be salutary. In J K Galbraith’s The Great Crash he argued that financial regulation wasn’t what kept American finance stable after the war, it was the psychic scars of the Great Depression. While our elitehave got off scot free, the little people will have learned a valuable lesson that you don’t have to be a bad person to suffer.

In many more ways, this is anything but salutary, Just reading The Great Crash is a much easier way to teach the same lesson. Likewise, us little people already suffer, it is the elite (politicos, journalists, financiers, central bankers) who need to have their face rubbed in their failure not us.

This post is really just meant to remind all the “grown ups” around here that young people (…and I ain’t as young as I was when I started this blog) don’t really know, in the lived experience way, what the hell you guys are talking about.

Filed under: Economics

When NGDP is Depressed, Employment is Depressed

RSS Subsciption

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,367 other followers

Increase NGDP, Put These People Back to Work

Follow me on twitter

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Politics Blogs

Testimonials

Paul Sagar

Left Outside is always worth a read for passionate, and frequently irreverent, analysis and comment.

Sunny Hundal

Oi! Enough of the cheek!

Chris Dillow

Left Outside is, I think, entirely wrong

John Band

This might be the least well informed piece I’ve read on LC, which is quite an accolade.

DEC Appeal

License

Creative Commons License
Left Outside by Left Outside is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.
Based on a work at leftoutside.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://wp.me/PvyGQ-gt.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,367 other followers

